Kernsetzer

Data › Print rules

Print rules of KDP, IngramSpark, BoD, epubli and tredition

By Lukas · version 1, read to

Of five print-on-demand services, only KDP makes the inside margin grow with the page count, from 0.375 in (9.6 mm) up to 150 pages to 0.875 in (22.3 mm) above 700. IngramSpark recommends half an inch on every side at any length, and BoD, epubli and tredition set no minimum at all. The bleed differs as much: 0.125 in on three edges at KDP and IngramSpark, 3 mm at epubli and 5 mm at BoD and tredition on all four. Kernsetzer read each rule on the service’s own pages and dated it; the tables are below, and the whole set is available as CSV and JSON.

Bleed

PrinterBleedEdges
KDP0.125 in (3.2 mm)top, bottom, outside
IngramSpark0.125 in (3.2 mm)top, bottom, outside
BoD5 mmall four
epubli3 mmall four
tredition5 mmall four

Minimum margins

PrinterInsideOutside, top, bottom
KDP0.375 in (9.6 mm) – 0.875 in (22.3 mm), by page count0.25 in (6.4 mm); 0.375 in (9.6 mm) with bleed, from the bleed edge
IngramSpark0.5 in (12.7 mm); colour 0.625 in (15.9 mm)0.5 in (12.7 mm)
BoDnone required, mirrored; BoD’s blog advises keeping text 5 mm from the edge
epublinone required; its guides suggest 1.2 to 2.5 cm
treditionnone stated

KDP’s inside margin by page count

PagesInside
24–⁠1500.375 in (9.6 mm)
151–⁠3000.5 in (12.7 mm)
301–⁠5000.625 in (15.9 mm)
501–⁠7000.75 in (19.1 mm)
701–⁠8280.875 in (22.3 mm)

Page count

PrinterPaperPages
KDPblack ink, white paper24–⁠828
black ink, cream paper24–⁠776
black ink, groundwood paper24–⁠812
standard colour, white paper72–⁠600
premium colour, white paper24–⁠828
IngramSpark50 lb white, black or colour18–⁠1,200
50 lb crème18–⁠1,050
70 lb white, black, colour or premium colour18–⁠900
38 lb groundwood18–⁠900
BoDpaperback and hardcover24–⁠900
epublisoftcover36–⁠784
hardcover36–⁠980
treditionnot stated in the text

Page count divisible by

PrinterPage count divisible by
KDP2 (KDP rounds an odd count up)
IngramSpark2 (IngramSpark adds blank pages)
BoD2 (4 for a sewn hardcover; BoD adds blank pages)
epublinot stated
tredition4 (tredition adds blank pages)
Spine width of a 300-page black-and-white paperback BoD, cream20.25 mm KDP, cream19.05 mm BoD, white18.00 mm KDP, groundwood17.91 mm KDP, white17.16 mm
The spine of a 300-page black-and-white paperback, from KDP’s and BoD’s thickness per page. IngramSpark, epubli and tredition publish none.

Spine width per page

PrinterPaperPer page
KDPblack ink, white paper0.002252 in (0.0572 mm)
black ink, cream paper0.0025 in (0.0635 mm)
black ink, groundwood paper0.00235 in (0.0597 mm)
standard colour, white paper0.002252 in (0.0572 mm)
premium colour, white paper0.002347 in (0.0596 mm)
IngramSparknot published; in the cover template IngramSpark emails
BoDcream, 90 g/m²0.0675 mm
white, 90 g/m²0.06 mm
Fotomatt, 120 g/m²0.063 mm
Fotobrillant, 130 g/m²0.0505 mm
epublinot published; in epubli’s price calculator
treditionnot published; in the project’s size calculator

Text on the spine

PrinterFrom
KDPmore than 79 pages
IngramSpark48 pages or more
BoDnot stated
epublinot stated
treditionnot stated

The PDF

PrinterThe PDF
KDPPDF; PDF/X-1a preferred; a PDF is required for a book with bleed
IngramSparkPDF/X-1a:2001 or PDF/X-3:2002 (named for black and white, required for colour)
BoDPDF, no standard named
epubliPDF, no standard named; at most 250 MB
treditionPDF, no standard named; from Word “PDF/A-compatible”

Fonts

PrinterFonts
KDPembedded; fully rather than as subsets recommended
IngramSparkembedded; subsets count
BoDembedded
epubliembedded completely
treditionembedded

Images

PrinterImages
KDPat least 300 dpi
IngramSpark300 ppi, line art 600 ppi; greyscale for black and white
BoD300 dpi, line art 1200 dpi; RGB preferred
epubli300 dpi
tredition300 dpi, line art 1200 dpi; CMYK recommended

Trim sizes

PrinterTrim sizes
KDP10 standard sizes from 5 × 8 to 8.5 × 11 in; custom from 4 × 6 to 8.5 × 11.69 in
IngramSparkabout 30 sizes from 4 × 6 to 8.5 × 11 in, A5 and 4.72 × 7.48 in (12 × 19 cm) among them; custom within limits
BoD10 sizes from 12 × 19 cm to A4; custom only for publishers
epubli12 sizes, among them 12.5 × 19 and 13.5 × 20.5 cm, A5, A4
treditionany portrait size up to A4; landscape 17 × 17 to 21 × 17 cm

Printing cost

MarketplaceUp to 110 pagesFrom 111 pages
KDP, Amazon.com2.30 USD1.00 USD + 0.012 USD a page
KDP, Amazon.co.uk1.93 GBP0.85 GBP + 0.01 GBP a page
KDP, Amazon.de and EU2.05 EUR0.75 EUR + 0.012 EUR a page
IngramSparknot in this version
BoDnot in this version
epublinot in this version
treditionnot in this version

KDP: black ink, white or cream paper, regular trim.

neobooks prints paperbacks through epubli and states no print rules of its own.

Sources

How the rules were gathered

Each rule is from the printer’s own help pages, guides and PDFs, listed under Sources with the day I read them: KDP’s on 28 October 2026 (the PDF, fonts and images on 4 November), BoD’s, epubli’s and tredition’s on 30 October, IngramSpark’s on 4 November. KDP’s, IngramSpark’s and BoD’s margins, bleed, page limits and spine figures are the ones the KDP and IngramSpark margin calculator and the spine calculator use. The script that writes this page, tools/make-data.py in the site’s repository, reads them from those calculators, so the three can’t disagree. Millimetres are converted from inches, and a minimum is rounded up to the next 0.1 mm, as KDP rounds its own.

The guides go through each printer’s rules in more detail: KDP, IngramSpark, and, in German, BoD, epubli and tredition.

What the tables don’t cover

The tables are about the interior of a paperback. Hardcovers, the cover beyond its spine and colour printing come up only where a rule depends on them, and the printing cost is only KDP’s in this version. “Not stated” means I didn’t find the rule on the pages listed, not that the printer has none. Where two of a printer’s pages disagree, the BoD, epubli and tredition guide gives both. The services change their rules from time to time, so check the current ones before you upload. A new reading is a new version of this dataset, with a note of what changed.

The files

One row per printer, rule and condition: print-rules.csv and print-rules.json. The columns are printer (kdp, ingramspark, bod, epubli, tredition, neobooks), rule, condition, value, unit (in, mm, pages or a currency), value_mm (lengths in millimetres), note and read (the day the rule was read). A rule a printer doesn’t state has an empty value and a note. The JSON also lists each printer’s sources.

License: CC BY 4.0: name Kernsetzer and link this page. Cite as: Kernsetzer, “Print rules of KDP, IngramSpark, BoD, epubli and tredition”, version 1, read 28 October to 4 November 2026, https://kernsetzer.app/data/print-rules.

In Kernsetzer you choose KDP, IngramSpark or BoD as the printer, and it sets the margins and bleed to these rules and checks the page count before it exports. The margin calculator works them out for your own page count. If you use the table somewhere, I’d like to hear about it.